



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF COMMUNITY AND REGIONAL AFFAIRS

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1640 Anchorage, Alaska 99501 Main: 907.269.4501/907.269.4581 Programs fax: 907.269.4539

August 21, 2013

Mr. Paul Charles, President Newtok Village Council P.O. Box 5502 Newtok, AK 99559

Dear Mr. Charles,

The State of Alaska currently has several grants with the Newtok Village Council. As you know, since last October, there has been a dispute over who the official members of the council are. The state has encouraged the tribe to resolve this dispute internally, and members of the tribe have worked towards that goal. Recently the Bureau of Indian Affairs compiled a timeline and summary of actions that have occurred regarding this dispute. In reviewing the history as outlined in this summary, the State feels that the actions occurring, especially those at the June community meeting, are compelling enough for the State to recognize the council members from the new council as the members for state purposes.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of Community and Regional Affairs recognizes the following individuals as members representing the Newtok Village Council for the administration of state grants and other programs.

Paul Charles-President George Carl-Vice President Simeon Fairbanks Jr.-Secretary Katherine Charles- Treasurer Louie Andy-member Lisa Charles-member Bernice John-member

In order for the new council to utilize the existing and future fund from the Division, we will need for the council to provide certain information to us. This includes the names, titles, and address of people authorized to sign documents, information regarding bank accounts, and updating or tax identification numbers. The contact information for the program staff within the Division is:

Rachel Spicer Grant Administrator 550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1640 Anchorage, AK 99501 Phone: (907) 269-4252 e-mail: rachel.spicer@alaska.gov Lawrence Blood Community Revenue Sharing Program Manager P.O. Box 110809 Juneau, AK 99811 Phone: (907) 465-4751 e-mail: lawrence.blood@alaska.gov

If you have any questions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

catt Rly

Scott Ruby Director

cc list: New Council Members George Carl Simeon Fairbanks Katherine Charles Louie Andy Lisa Charles Bernice John

> Old Council Members Moses Carl George J. Tom Joseph Patrick Mary George

Stanley Tom Glen Price, Newtok Village Corporation Mike Walleri, Attorney John Moller, Governor's Rural Liaison Susan Bell, Commissioner, DCCED Rachel Spicer, DCRA Grant Administrator Sally Cox, DCRA Staff Greg Magee, ADEC staff